In Depth Presentation: Digital Art and the Challenges and Inspirations of making a comic

The reason why I selected this project is because I was inspired by great artists like Hirohiko Araki and Kohei Horikoshi (famous Japanese comic artists). While I was a fan of their work I wasn’t particularly interested in using a style like theirs, rather I was more interested in using a more western approach. While traditional art uses pencil, paper, and ink, digital art uses different electronic devices. My personal “weapons of choice” were an Apple Pencil and an iPad Pro. Due to my love of graphic novels and comic books, I decided to do a comic as my final project. The process of this was extremely challenging as, if you have seen the rest of my posts, I have been creating full-page illustrations. With a comic, the issue is that I have to make several full illustrations scaled down to the size of each panel while retaining the detail. To make this comic, a lot of background work had to go in. I had to first work on my technique, create an original story that people would be interested in, lay out a storyboard, and actually create the original work itself. I personally chose a medieval setting for my story because I’ve been really interested in Dungeons and Dragons for the last couple of years and wanted to create a story like that of my own. I’d like to thank my mentor for regularly being able to meet with me, and being able to advise on every problem I had with my art. Over the course of this project with the help with my mentor I’ve seen significant improvements to my artistic ability. However, I know that I still have room to improve. If you have any questions for me about the process or the learning beforehand, please feel free to comment!

33 comments

  1. Hey there Bodhi!

    I really like your character designs in you comic there! I think they are very dynamic and original, especially with the colour scheme. One suggestion I’d like to make is to maybe make the borders between the panels less restricting. What I mean is to maybe bend the borders to your liking and have characters pop out a bit or maybe you can trying varying the size of the panels as well. Overall, I am very impressed!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hiya, Bodhi! Liam here. I like the webcomic so far! The story’s looking kind of cliche right now, but I’m guessing that’s intentional since you seem to be poking fun at it. How is drawing stuff digitally different to drawing stuff physically? Do you plan on continuing it? I’m curious how Gynn acquires the rainbow scar thingy on his cheek.

    Like

    • Great questions. First of all, the cliche bits weren’t entirely intended but now that I read it over a second time I TOTALLY get what you mean. Drawing digitally is similar to traditional art in that you have to draw with different brushes and materials, however all of those brushes and materials are typically stored in the programs you use like Photoshop or, the program I used, procreate. I’ll continue the series if it gains any interest on my main social media account (@supertiredartist on Instagram)

      Like

  3. Love the story, Bodhi! Can’t wait to see the characters used in DnD club next year! I love the character designs and backstory elements (as well as the emotional and humorous beats). About how long did it take you to draw each panel, and what was your favourite technique that you learned?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Personally, I took about 1 day for each page, so divide that time up as you will (roughly 30 minutes total for each panel if I had to guess?). My personal favourite thing I learned about this whole year was actually something I learned about by myself, and that was learning about effective character design in preparation for this project!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This in-depth was a great choice for you. Your passion and creativity were expressed throughout. Which part did you enjoy the most and why?

    Like

    • By far my favourite part was being able to look at each post and not only see areas I needed to improve, but also seeing areas in which I had improved over the course of this project! I’m very excited to continue with this in my spare time

      Like

  5. Great work Bodhi, this is an amazing comic strip! Were you interested in art before beginning this project? If so, what types of art have you done (drawing, painting, sculptures, etc)?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Before this project, I had a couple of years of experience in this same medium, as well as several years prior of cartooning, but I wanted to spend this in depth improving even more upon those skills

      Like

    • A little secret about my world design is that the name was based off a world from a video game I played a LONG time ago. As for the character names I just took inspiration from different cultures (mainly British and Japanese) to come up with most of them, as well as drawing from my extended knowledge of Dungeons and Dragons

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I love that you’ve taken on comics/illustrations! Your stand up comedy + comics definitely make for a very funny duo – what are your plans for the future? Any quarantine illustration/comic making plans?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the comment! I plan to continue the series on other social media (likely my Instagram @supertiredartist) over the course of quarantine into summer break. Who knows, maybe it’ll continue even past then?

      Like

  7. Hi Bodhi!
    So glad you’ve taken this opportunity to combine your storytelling talent with your art. Excited to read any updates, and respect to you for having the patience to work digitally, I know the format can be frustrating at times. Great Job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • If I were part of a team, I believe that being the artist would absolutely be a fun role! If you’ve been following along on my Instagram (@supertiredartist) where I’ve been regularly posting, you can see that concept art and character design are really two great passions of mine and as such they combine to form my love of comic creation. Second place preference would absolutely be story writing. I’ve loved writing short stories since I was little, and it absolutely carries over to this.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment